Montréal, 29 September 2019 – During the opening ceremonies of its 40th Assembly this week, ICAO Council President Dr. Olumuyiwa Benard Aliu presented 28 States from all ICAO regions with Council President Certificates.

The Certificates were established to recognize the States’ significant progress in resolving safety oversight and security deficiencies, and in improving the effective implementation of ICAO Standards and Recommended Practices as identified through related ICAO audit programmes. Based on their achievements in 2018, the following 16 States were recognized by the ICAO Council at this year’s ceremony for their safety progress:

1) Azerbaijan

2) Bahrain

3) Gabon

4) Georgia

5) Ghana

6) Guatemala

7) India

8) Mauritania

9) Montenegro

10) Mozambique

11) Myanmar

12) Papua New Guinea

13) Peru

14) Qatar

15) Serbia

16) The Congo

In the area of Aviation Security, the 17 States recognized by the Council in 2019 were:

1) Bahrain

2) Croatia

3) Dominican Republic

4) Georgia

5) Ghana

6) Jamaica

7) Kazakhstan

8) Kenya

9) Maldives

10) Mauritania

11) Namibia

12) Nigeria

13) Qatar

14) Rwanda

15) Trinidad and Tobago

16) Turkey

17) Uganda

“These awards, established by the ICAO Council in support of our ongoing No Country Left Behind initiative, have been developed in order to more publicly acknowledge and encourage States’ commitment and progress in making our global network even safer and more secure than it is today,” commented Council President Aliu.

The effective implementation of ICAO’s global Standards and Recommended Practices is considered a fundamental prerequisite today for establishing air transport’s rapid global connectivity, and in turn the many socio-economic benefits it helps to realize.

Source : ICAO